He’s a real hero @exboozehound @the_hopecentre @DudleyCVS #keepdudleybostin

Wellbeing Award 2015

Main Award – Joint – Individual – Jon Mansell

[Ex Boozehounds]

KGP_1469“Jon runs a drop-in support group called ‘Ex Boozehounds’ once a week, that supports men experiencing depression, or substance misuse and addictions, at The Hope Centre in Halesowen.  He also supports people with his blog and has hundreds of followers. Jon has a wealth of knowledge and experience, which he passes onto others, helping anyone in need, including families and friends of those who are experiencing mental health issues. There is nothing like this in Dudley and Jon is providing a free support service, volunteering to assist anyone in need.

Jon’s honesty has helped so many who battle with their thoughts. One man who attends the support group said: “I was scared to take my medication, I had bad thoughts that medication would harm me. After speaking to Jon and with his support I am now taking my meds, and I am looking forward.  I still have fear but the group is helping. As Jon says one step at a time.

James a young man aged 22 who has been depressed and suicidal for the past ten years said: “Jon has helped me by being real and honest…I don’t have to be scared to talk about my feelings, I can be real and I am believed. It’s so good, such a good feeling, it’s the first time in years I have attended a group run by someone experiencing what I’m going through, and understanding me.  It is helping me in building my confidence. Jon has made this happen for me and many like me, he’s a real hero! ”

